Latest post Sun, Jul 10 2022 5:03 PM by Youghes. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jul 5 2022 1:44 PM

• Youghes
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jul 5 2022
    • Posts 4
    • Points 50

Coming back to Avid

Hello.  I worked as a freelance film/TV editor cutting mostly on Avid for about 10 years after several years working as an assistant editor.  Mostly on factual TV programs (30 mins and longer)  but also on some drama and doing the off-line edits in pro edit houses and supervising online edits and dubs.  I stopped about 15years ago for one reason and another and am lately thinking about exploring re-starting.  My question is if the user interface / edit process has changed damatically?  I've been looking around the Avid site and it looks familliar in many ways but Im not sure if I am being really stupid for even thinking about re-starting as it seems vaster than I remember it to be.    I originally worked in a Commercials house in Soho that trialled some of the first Avids in the days when a lot of footage was still shot on fllm and when 9GB storage looked like a brick!  It was all transfered from tape and Im guessing theres mostly memory cards now?  Has anyone here been working across all this time and have any view on the evolving interface / process.  I am fairly computer literate and used to set up my own edit suites on location if necessary  but I was never very involved with SFX beyond dissolves, basic colouring and motion FX type of stuff.  Am I mad to be thinking about getting back into it now in my early 50's.   Thank you in advance for any input.  

• Tue, Jul 5 2022 5:03 PM In reply to

Re: Coming back to Avid

Hiya,

For every person that says the interface has changed so much that you'll never be able to figure it out there will be someone else that says it's evolved but is essentially the same so you'll be fine.