Latest post Fri, Sep 17 2021 11:08 AM by Philip Kapadia. 16 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Sep 12 2021 11:29 AM

AMC 2018 - What to look out for...

Hi all, 

On Tuesday I'm going into a post house in London as an assistant editor for the first time. This particular company, like most post-houses in soho, are still on the 2018 versions of avid media composer. I've never properly used the 2018 versions of AMC as I started learning on MC 2019. I'll be playing around with it later on today, but was wondering if there was anything to look out for, other than of course the interface change? Is it "all the same" with a different skin? 

Thanks in advance :)

https://philipkapadia.com/my-equipment [view my complete system specs]
  • Sun, Sep 12 2021 12:00 PM In reply to

• Mercer
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Apr 15 2010
    • UK
    • Posts 734
    • Points 9,420

Re: AMC 2018 - What to look out for...

It's the same essentially if not a lot simpler. Key differences I can think of, offhand are: (others will add more) Settings are to be found in the project window and are all lumped together. All bins float - there is no docking; there is less space for tool buttons on the timeline and I think, though I can't remember the lift and ripple symbols (aka Strongman and scissors) are red and yellow - that look very similar to insert and overwrite!

MC with Symphony option, 2021.6, HP ZBook 17 G5, i7-8850H 6 core/64GB ram/512 M2 ssd/Nvidia Quadro P5200/16GB/FHD, HP Thunderbolt Dock G2, BMD Ultrastudio... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sun, Sep 12 2021 12:23 PM In reply to

Mercer: