Latest post Sun, Aug 29 2021 8:02 AM by Pat Horridge. 16 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jun 8 2021 5:40 PM

• Polar-Bear
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Dec 28 2020
    • Zurich, Switzerland
    • Posts 9
    • Points 140

The iMac 27" (2020) and its kernel panics

Hi there

Anyone else having system crashes (panics causing black screens and restarting) with the iMac 2020 (Model 20,1 / 3.8 GHz 8-core i7 / 5500XT)?

As an assistant editor I came across 3 of these units in different facilities / with different editors and all of them were not able to run Media Composer 2020/2021 without kernal panics occuring on a regular basis (multiple times a day)!

All of these iMacs were connected to one external display eigther via a USB-C to HDMI cable or a USB-C to DisplayPort cable. Also they all have different and sufficient RAM configurations. It happens on Catalina as well as the latest version of Big Sur.

Unplugging the secondary display seems to be a workaround as well as driving it by an external GPU (RX580 in a Sonnet enclosure in one case). 

Strangely enough, MC doesn't have to run intensive tasks to crash the computer. Sometimes it happens while sitting idle or even on launching MC. But it never happens when MC isn't running at all. Sadly no other NLE is installed on these systems to provoke the crash outside of MC.

As this is a machine recommended by Avid I think it's worth discussing the problem in this forum as I see more editors buying this (probably last) Intel iMac and then facing this issue wich basically makes the machine unusable. 

Cheers, Lars

16-Core Mac Pro, 192 GB Ram, W5700X, Catalina 10.15.7, MediaComposer 2021.5, Resolve Studio 17 [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, Jun 8 2021 8:37 PM In reply to

Re: The iMac 27" (2020) and its kernel panics

Raise a support case with Avid and see what they say?