Latest post Wed, May 5 2010 12:23 PM by Larry Rubin. 17 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (18 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Apr 10 2010 2:15 AM

• falkenprops
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Dec 13 2006
    • Los Angeles
    • Posts 22
    • Points 265

Jumpy Video and Audio

Okay, slow down. I'm not a professional. I'm not familiar with all of the technical fixes that I've read suggested on this message board regarding issues simialr to mine. I don't know what an "FW" drive is or  a "Quad GS5."

I have Avid Xpress pro, Academic version 5.6.4.  I've had no problems since the usual Avid hardware-software/compatability issues during the first 6 months of my initial installation 3 years ago.

I imported/edited/burned a project a few weeks ago. Spent a few days on it. Added footage, re-edited. All was great. Went back today to re-edit one small clip and the entire project is jumpy. Audio and video hang, and jump. Every clip in my bins. Other projects seem fine.

I haven't changed any hardware or software. Does anyone have an idea?

I'm not an idiot, but I'm certainly not literate in the Avid Computer Component language.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

jim

Model Name: iMac Model Identifier: iMac12,2 Processor Name: Intel Core i7 Processor Speed: 3.4 GHz Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 Software Mac... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sat, Apr 10 2010 2:47 AM In reply to

Re: Jumpy Video and Audio

Since you say the problem only affects this one project, it's likely that the settings file has become corrupted and needs to be rebuilt. Quit the application, and go into the "Avid Projects" folder and find the specific folder for the problem project. Open that folder and delete the file "(Project name)settings.avs". On re-launch, the system will detect the missing file and build a new one.