Latest post Tue, Apr 15 2008 7:44 AM by Job ter Burg. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Apr 14 2008 5:51 PM

• lmerino
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Mon, Dec 19 2005
    • Los Angeles
    • Posts 326
    • Points 4,405

Is MC Software technically "offline"

I've been editing on Avid for a few years now, but to answer a question I going to just play like I never have.

In the press releases for the new components, the description for MC-software reads
    "Media Composer software – For independent or mobile film and video editors looking for a portable offline editing solution with support for file-based editing"

Why is it being marketed as "offline?" 

If I'm editing dvcproHD material off of P2 cards, am i editing only offline quality? 

Do they call it offline because it cannot play back through any analog output?

Do they call it offline cuzz they want you to think you need a mojo/nitris box?

Thanks

Avid Certified HP Z820 [view my complete system specs]
  • Mon, Apr 14 2008 6:05 PM In reply to

• Butcher
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Mon, Apr 17 2006
    • Jacksonville, FL
    • Posts 1,442
    • Points 18,650

Re: Is MC Software technically "offline"

lmerino:
    If I'm editing dvcproHD material off of P2 cards, am i editing only offline quality?

No, unless you transcode the DVCProHD files to an offline resolution, like 14:1.

lmerino:

Do they call it offline because it cannot play back through any analog output?

Perhaps.  Because it's software only you can use it to do your initial edit, lock picture, then take it to a Symphony for the online (color correction, etc...) and output.

lmerino: