Latest post Sat, Aug 13 2016 6:00 PM by Marty. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Aug 1 2016 1:53 PM

Need advice for a 3rd party video I/O card

Hey everybody,

I need your advice for a 3rd party video I/O card.

For my next project I will be working on a 27” retina iMac (4,0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, AMD Radeon R9 M395X 4 GB graphics) with upgraded RAM to 16GB or 32GB, plus an EIZO CS2420 as client monitor.
    The project-codec will be DNxHD115 1080@24p will not include any color correction/animation, just editing :).

Now the part I need advice. We need to get a 3rd party I/O card.
    My suggestion would be to get the AJA IO XT, because i had very good experience with it in the past and I think it is a very reliable hardware.
    They obviously want to save some money and want to get the BlackmagicDesign UltraStudio Express, which is much cheaper than the AJA hardware.

With the BMD UltraStudio Express I have no experience at all, so i read some stuff about noisy fans, slower timeline operations, “BOB” errors, slow performance in trim mode, broken playback, driver problems (specially with newer drivers etc.)...

What is your experience with the BMD UltraStudio Express?
    Which driver is the most stable one?

Many thanks in advance
    Chris

MAC 2018.8 | iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015) | OSX 10.11.1 | Intel Core i7@4 GHz | 32GB RAM | AMD Radeon R9 M395X 4GB | AJA IO XT [view my complete system specs]

• Mon, Aug 1 2016 9:47 PM In reply to

• jdw
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Posts 363
    • Points 4,435

Re: Need advice for a 3rd party video I/O card