Latest post Wed, Nov 12 2014 5:23 AM by AndrewAction. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Nov 11 2014 11:57 PM

• Terry Hopkins
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Sep 30 2010
    • Charlotte, NC
    • Posts 87
    • Points 1,455

Dongle or Electronic Activation

I've been using Avid products since 2001, started with Xpress Pro then moved Media Composer and I've had a dongle to run the proigram. I just installed MC8 and when I started the program it's asking if I want to start with the Electronic Activation or Hardware Key (dongle). I have the dongle and was about to click that, but wanted to ask if I should give up the dongle?

Which is best with Media Composer in todays world?

Thanks,
    Terry 

Intel i7, 12GB ram, Dual 23' monitors, Avid Media Composer 8.4 [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Nov 12 2014 1:36 AM In reply to

Re: Dongle or Electronic Activation

IMO giving up a dongle would be a terrible decision.

Dongles have worked brilliantly with Avids for well over 20 years. To me it appears that the only people who want you to give up a dongle are Avid. Based on Avid charging an extra $500 if a new person wants a dongle (a less than $5.0 USD device) with their new MC.
    If you do change to software activation and you decide it is not as convient Avid will charge you $500 for a new dongle.

• Wed, Nov 12 2014 4:37 AM In reply to

• Gabriel
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Dec 5 2012
    • Toronto
    • Posts 122
    • Points 1,400

Terry Hopkins:
    Which is best with Media Composer in todays world?

I think depends on your needs. Myself I have an electronic activation because I take my workstation to set on a road case, always and I can't afford to forget the dongle, but if you work in a post house, small studio or home, dongle is fine.

Once, I was on set and I forgot Davinci's dongle....I had to go back home 40 mins later and get it.... for my needs, I rather no dongle.