Latest post Tue, Sep 10 2013 8:49 PM by Isaac T.. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Sep 5 2013 4:02 PM

• lodoiska
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Sep 5 2013
    • Posts 6
    • Points 110

Which Mac with MC 7?

Hi all!

I'm completely new to Avid, and I was asked to choose a computer to put MC7 on. Which one should I get? I know which ones are suppported, but money-and-use wise, is it preferable to have the newest 2.66GHz 6-core Westmere with only 6gb of ram and an internal SSD as a scratch (3000$), a new 3.2GHz Quand Nahelem (Scratch SSD, 12GB ram) (2200$), or is a used Octo Nahelem 2009 (2.26GHz, SSD scratch, but 32GB ram) better (1500$)? Is there a real-life time saving difference between those machines? (assume they all have a 5770HD video card). Will any of these will be more stable?

Also, I can't help but notice the new Quand 3.2GHz Nahalem isn't listed as suppported, not does any Octo Westmere... Since they do have the minimun (or more) cores & memory stated at the end of the Qualified Systems PDF, am I to understand they are supported, but have not been thoroughly tested by Avid? If I end up buying one of those, will the Avid Support still help me if I run into problems?

This system will be used to edit documentaries feature movies, so not 3d or special effects whatsoever, just HD images with subtitles.

Thank you for all your help!

A total newbie,

Lodo

• Thu, Sep 5 2013 4:21 PM In reply to

Re: Which Mac with MC 7?

Any of those will work. While Avid tests as many configuration possible, olders and "low-end" systems usually take a back seat to newer and higher end Mac Pros.

I would select the most cores with the highest clock speed (12 core Westmere being on top). SSD is not necessary and probably not a good investment for media drives because of cost. They are great for system drives.

If you are using background transcoding, it is highly recommended that you have at least 16GB of RAM.