Latest post Wed, May 22 2013 12:54 AM by carlgmi. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, May 20 2013 5:16 AM

• Tim
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Dec 18 2009
    • Australia
    • Posts 564
    • Points 7,515

What is with the Colour Grading in Australian TVC'S right now!?!?!?

What is with the Colour Grading in Australian TVC'S right now!

Something I've noticed for quite some time is that terrible 'turn the contrast up look' colour grading to all australian TVC'S right now, I hate it it looks 'smokey' and horrible! what happened to nice deep colour depth? HATE-IT. looks cheap.

• Tue, May 21 2013 1:50 AM In reply to

• jwrl
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Melbourne, Australia
    • Posts 8,420
    • Points 97,425

Re: What is with the Colour Grading in Australian TVC'S right now!?!?!?

Tim, back when I was cutting commercials for a living, I used to work with one director who deliberately black- and white-crushed everything.  He was convinced it gave his work "punch" - whatever that may mean!

I suspect that what you're seeing now is the current fashionable "look".  But I agree with you.  It's worse still when you've just approved the grade on a made for TV feature but all the promos made by the network have that look too.  As I have just suffered.  I just hope that when it goes to air it's our grade we see and not the one in the promos.

MC 7.0.4 - Asus P6T Deluxe V2 mobo - Intel i7 920 2.66GHz - Windows 7 Ult64 SP1 - nVidia Quadro FX 1800 - 16 Gbyte low latency DDR3 RAM - Internal 8 Tb... [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, May 21 2013 3:01 AM In reply to

• Tim
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Dec 18 2009
    • Australia
    • Posts 564
    • Points 7,515