Latest post Tue, Sep 4 2012 9:08 PM by Pat Horridge. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Aug 20 2012 6:42 PM

• Jeff
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Toronto
    • Posts 15
    • Points 160

What I/O Hardware do I need for DNxHD 175 Group clip?

I am a FCP editor switching to AVID for my next show.

It will be a 4 camera sitcom and we will be Editing with the DNxHD 175 X (HD1080p) Codec.

I will need to send a quad split group clip signal to my client monitor?

I am purchasing a new MacPro 12 core with Lion. I already purchased the Symphony software (MC6).

I am not worried at all about capturing media into the system, only concern is sending the Group Clip 4 stream signal of 175 out to the client monitor. It is a 22 minute sitcom so I will never be using timelines longer than 30 minutes in length.

Which of the following options would work OK / would work best / would not work at all

1) Intensity Pro PCI card (HDMI Out) - I currently have one installed in my FCP and it works great with Pro Res Proxy (36Mbs). I could move this to the new 12 core.

2) Matrox Mini

3) Adrenaline

4) Nitris

I am new to AVID so any help would be appreciated. Obviously some options are more economical than others.

Note: I am currently running (ONLY AS A TEST)  the MC6 software on my older Dual Core MacPro (32bit Kernel). System works fine @ DNx36 but can't handle DNx175. Don't know if this is only a limitation of the computer or the BlackMagic Card as well.

MacPro 12 core (2x2.4 GHz-6 Core) / 12GB Ram / ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB / BlackMagic Intensity Pro PCI Card / Mac OS 10.8.5 / Symphony 7.0.2 [view my complete system specs]
  • Mon, Aug 20 2012 6:59 PM In reply to

• vpcmike
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Baltimore, MD
    • Posts 1,669
    • Points 20,140

Re: What I/O Hardware do I need for DNxHD 175 Group clip?