Latest post Thu, Jul 7 2011 4:56 PM by Terry Snyder. 18 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Jul 2 2011 9:15 PM

• caamada
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Feb 27 2011
    • Posts 12
    • Points 130

doubt with mojo and quadro

Hi. I'm a beginner with avid and this world. My doubt is this:

I need to accelerate my renders in my machine, and if possible have an external fullscreen monitor to view material.

What I need? And Nvidia Quadro give me that? or I need a Mojo SDI?

I work with severals canon cameras, sometimes some hdv tape but nothing more.

Appreciate help.

Thanks

Dario

• Sun, Jul 3 2011 12:12 PM In reply to

• Steve Clark
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Jun 3 2011
    • Melbourne, AU
    • Posts 74
    • Points 815

Re: doubt with mojo and quadro

Hi caamada, 

It all depends on how you plan to use your Avid now, and what else you may want to do with it in the short term future.

In editing you will hear the terms, BOB 'Break Out Box', File Based Workflow, and Realtime effects.    

With Avid you will also hear DNA which means Digital Non-linear Accelerator.

A BOB is a box with various connectors that allows you to get baseband video in & out of your editing system.  

File Based Workflows (which seem to be where the industry is heading) is where you don't need to work with baseband video - you import your media as files and you export media as files. 

Realtime effects are effects you apply to your timeline that don't need to be rendered to be played out as baseband video.   

Avid's DNA's (Mojo, Adrenaline, Nitris) are BOB's with a bit of dedicated hardware that allow you to have more realtime effects. If you work in a broadcast environment where you may need to play your edited sequence to the studio live, or if you output baseband SDI to tape, A DNA is a real asset, especially on long jobs like a documentary.