Latest post Tue, Nov 20 2012 4:39 PM by T.Spain. 16 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Jul 2 2011 5:43 PM

• Marco Polo
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Jul 1 2011
    • Canada
    • Posts 11
    • Points 155

How to import AVCHD to Avid?

Hey guys,

On Wednsday, I'm going to start filming my short film. I was originally going to use Final Cut Pro, but now that I have learned Avid, I think I have enough confidence to edit a short film with Avid. The problem is... I've never edited AVCHD before. 

So my question is, how would I go about bringing the files from the SD card into Avid to edit? I know these files aren't directly editable. 

Thanks, and please make your answers very detailed because I'm a noob at Avid.

We will be using a Canon Hf10 by the way.

Avid Symphony 6 for PC [view my complete system specs]
    Filed under: , , , , ,
  • Sat, Jul 2 2011 9:27 PM In reply to

• Marianna
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Avid
    • Posts 11,268
    • Points 231,960
    • Avid Beta Moderators
      Avid Customer Advocate
      Avid Developer Moderator
      BlogAuthor
      SystemAdministrator

Re: How to import AVCHD to Avid?

Hey there - and BTW there are a few of us Girls here too :)

AVCHD is an import format only.   Inside MC go to File > Import, navigate to the stream folder and select the .MTS files.  Once in the system, the media can be transcoded to any codec in the Media Creation Settings.  One note is that spanned clips are not supported.

Spanned clips are clips where the transport stream file is split in the middle of a GOP; the part after the split does not start on an I-Frame and therefore can't be imported.

HTH

Marianna

Director of Online Communities and Forums/Customer Advocate [view my complete system specs]

marianna.montague@avid.com

mobile 813-493-6800

Twitter:  avidmarianna

Facebook: Marianna Montague