Latest post Tue, May 4 2010 7:16 PM by dltarr. 31 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (32 items) 1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Apr 8 2010 1:49 AM

• dltarr
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Indianapolis
    • Posts 123
    • Points 1,490

How did you learn the DS?

I heard a few good stories awhile back, about how some DS'ers learned to use the DS, but I'm curious how the rest of you did.  Were you born with the complete knowledge of all things DS (Tone;)?  Did you sit down and read the manual from cover to cover?  Did someone take you under their wing?  Did you stay up all night and on weekends?  

Let me know, I want to hear your stories!

-Dave

Filed under:
  • Thu, Apr 8 2010 2:11 AM In reply to

• mrmikster
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Los Angeleez
    • Posts 572
    • Points 6,450
    • Moderator: Avid DS
      Moderator: MetaFuze

Re: How did you learn the DS?

Back in 1997, I started learning the DS. I was given a Beta Manual and Beta machine. I basically sat in a closet and re-wrote the manual from cover to cover in longhand (seems that's the only way I can get things to stick), then I went through the manual again, with the machine turned on. Finally, I went up to Montreal to get certified, and taught from the manual. So all in, I spent about a month with the Manual stuck to my fingers. Then, since there were so few DS systems in L.A. at that time, I pulled in every job I could and built it on the DS. Plus teaching the classes was a huge benefit to learning the system.

"There are no rules for the brave". Albert Einstein

• Thu, Apr 8 2010 3:01 AM In reply to

• dermot
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Vancouver, Canada
    • Posts 524
    • Points 6,220