Latest post Wed, Feb 17 2010 12:44 PM by videoguy. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Feb 17 2010 5:49 AM

• Ray Baden
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 17 2010
    • Posts 1
    • Points 15

Good Home System to Start With?

Hi. I'm a professional online linear editor buying an Avid Media Composer 4 system to learn on at home.

I would like to edit using hi def footage from my Canon HV20 as well as an older Sony Super 8 video camera.

I would like to avoid having to buy a mojo (I'm not into very sophisticated effect editing - dissolves, wipes,

and some prebuilt transitions would be fine.... I would like to be able to layer video and keyframe moves)

Can I be safe with a new Windows 7 computer dual core running at 2.8 Ghz? Can I stay under $1,000?

Are there any suggestions you would have for a system that meets these requirements? I have used

Final Cut pretty extensively but I'm finding lots of issues between it and other mac products and codecs.

Thanks

• Wed, Feb 17 2010 8:11 AM In reply to

Re: Good Home System to Start With?

Hi Ray,

I'm sure some other guys will come along with more specific answers, but the first thing you should do is look closely at the Media Composer system requirements.  Take particular note that W7 isn't approved yet (they're working on it, but no word yet on when it'll be approved).

adios,
    Carl 

Media Composer 2020.6 w/Symphony/SS/PF options, HP Z-Book G6 17", i7-9850H 2.60GHz, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000, Windows 10 Pro [view my complete system specs]

"There is hardly anything in the world that some man cannot make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who only consider the price are this man's lawful prey."  - John Ruskin (1819-1900)

Carl Amoscato | Freelance Film & Video Editor | London, UK

• Wed, Feb 17 2010 9:05 AM In reply to

• luca.mg
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Roma - Italy
    • Posts 5,689
    • Points 66,755