Latest post Tue, Feb 2 2010 10:17 AM by Javier Valledor. 1 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Feb 2 2010 8:30 AM

• NeilStewart
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Warrington, UK
    • Posts 57
    • Points 695

Mojo No-Show on Windows 7? Try This!

Hi Guys,

I have dual-posted over at the Mac forum because there are other Mac Boot Camp-specific oddities I have found which I won't bother you PC guys with, but this is a Windows 7 problem, so here I go.

Yes, I know MC 4.0.5 is not (yet) qualified for Windows 7, but here's a tip which might save you the (near) two days I just wasted trying to get my original (analogue) Mojo to work on Windows 7.

I have a client who is Avid (PC) based, who wants a DVD authoring. I have extensive experience with DVD Studio Pro on Mac, but zero experience on Avid DVD (only available on PC), so with a couple of days downtime, I thought I'd do some testing by installing Windows 7 on a boot camp partition on my MacBook Pro, adding my Avid MC & third-party software (plus MacDrive), to do some self-training before doing it for real in front of a paying client.

I did a full, clean install of - firstly - the 32-bit version of Windows 7.  All went well, and worked fine, until I tried to connect the analogue Mojo.  The computer flatly refused to accept that the Mojo did have an installed driver. (Control Panel/System/Device Manager).  So I uninstalled, re-installed, installed the standalone Media Composer, uninstalled, reinstalled Boot Camp drivers, reinstalled everything etc etc, but the system just wouldn't see the Mojo.

The forum told me to look for flamethrower.sys, but a search of the entire system said it didn't exist, despite the installer saying it was installing it (or so I thought).