Latest post Sat, Mar 29 2008 1:34 PM by BLKDOG. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Mar 13 2008 12:32 AM

• skinnymc
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Dec 31 2005
    • NYC - Available to work worldwide
    • Posts 38
    • Points 470

The Bootcamp thread challenge

I've been editing remotely for a few months. The client I work with uses PCs. I use a MacBook Pro 2.4GHz with OS 10.4.11

We've run into a few problems such as drive formatting issues and the carryover of Sapphire effects at the online. I want to minimize problems with the client by being able to say I am operating in a Windows environment as well.

Ok, so will there be more problems or less if I upgrade to Leopard and edit Avid Xpress Pro 5.8 under Bootcamp/Windows XP?

I've struggled to find good threads about using Bootcamp on the Avid forums. When I search using Avid's search or Google I often end up with thread about Bootcamp I started on the Mac-side of the forum a month back.

The only thing I've figured out is that since I have a newer MBP my graphics card should be fine (it's not ATI).

Though I read somewhere that the MPB's firewire might not be supported?

Can anyone provide a handful of the best links about using AXP with Bootcamp? If not can we use this thread to get thorough feedback?

Thanks all!

PS Blkdog, sorry to hear Red is not too impressive (but that, as they say, is another thread)
    MCP 3.5.1/Leopard 10.5.6/QT7.6 on Macbook Pro 17" 2.4GHz Intel 4GB RAM (with a free replaced motherboard as the original had a defective videocard... [view my complete system specs]
  • Thu, Mar 13 2008 1:28 PM In reply to

• BLKDOG
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Lansing, MI
    • Posts 17,731
    • Points 226,405
    • Avid Employee
      Moderator: MCA Mac
      Moderator: MCA PC

Re: The Bootcamp thread challenge