Latest post Thu, Mar 27 2008 2:13 PM by tonyjover. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Mar 5 2008 11:18 PM

• MMP
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Posts 40
    • Points 660

Avid user going to DS Nitris version 7.6

Hello,

I'm a long time Media Composer and Symphony user looking to get my own system will HD abilities. I have the option of getting an Avid DS Nitris version 7.6 full system for a good price. Having never used DS Nitris, I had some questions.

1) How close is DS functions to say Media Composer?

2) I would be using the system for as a straight editor for TV and Corporate promos, can in work in this way?

3) Is there a major differance between 7.6 and the most current form of software?

Any answers are greatly appriatiated.

• Wed, Mar 5 2008 11:50 PM In reply to

• GusC
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Burbank, CA
    • Posts 531
    • Points 6,565

Re: Avid user going to DS Nitris version 7.6

MMP:

1) How close is DS functions to say Media Composer?

-They do the same basic NLE functions, just in different ways.  DS just does about 1000 times more stuff.    The interfaces are quite different, though and there will be a definite learning curve, as there always is when upgrading your skill set to include more sophisticated tools.  I knew Avids first and then transitioned to DS many years ago, and I keep a foot in both worlds now.  Once you become proficient on DS, it is very difficult to go back.  DS isn't for everybody.  In the wrong environnment, it can be counterproductive.  The same can be said for Symphony as well.

MMP:

2) I would be using the system for as a straight editor for TV and Corporate promos, can in work in this way?