Latest post Wed, May 22 2013 5:35 PM by camoscato. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Dec 5 2006 10:06 PM

Picture in picture, trying to divide screen

I need some help with the picture in picture effect. I wanted to divide the screen into fours, but it is taking me forever to edit! Do I really have to apply effects to every little edit I make? Is there any way to put a freeze frame into my divisions? I am trying to synchronize the action amongst the four scenes, so they look like one scene. I need some time filler, but I don't want to apply effects on every 3 seconds of filler I put on a loop. I am a total novice
  • Tue, Dec 5 2006 11:18 PM In reply to

• BLKDOG
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Lansing, MI
    • Posts 17,731
    • Points 226,380
    • Avid Employee
      Moderator: MCA Mac
      Moderator: MCA PC

Re: Picture in picture, trying to divide screen

Just make all of your edits on each of four layers. When your cut is done, Lasso the segments on each track (One track ata time that is) from left to right. With them all selected, Hold down OPTION and doubleclick the PIP effect. This will nest all of our cuts into one effect that you can manipulate as you wish.
    Project Manager, Avid Professional Services - Americas [view my complete system specs]

In agreement, Unity. In Disagreement, Discussion. In all things, Charity.

• Tue, Dec 5 2006 11:28 PM In reply to

Blkdog sneaks in before XPotential with a much more succinct response.  I'll just delete my long winded explanation about video mixdowns, nested effects etc etc and head off to bed...Wink [;)]  Still, it's always nice to learn a simpler way of doing things!
    Mac OS X 10.4.2, Dual 2.7 GHz G5, 1.5 GB DDR SDRAM, 30in Apple HD Display, GRAID 300GB external HD, Edirol speakers, Sony Z1E. Avid XPress Pro... [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Dec 6 2006 1:16 AM In reply to