Latest post Mon, Dec 3 2018 2:15 PM by Matthew Clulow. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Dec 2 2018 7:35 PM

• Matthew Clulow
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Feb 12 2018
    • North of Toronto Ontario
    • Posts 21
    • Points 195

MC FIRST export resources / Export time

I'm studying MC FIrst with the intent of upgrading to the purhcased version.  So far, I realy like it and I'm about ready to make the move. 

My theory is, if MC First works on this older machine, so will MC Purchase. It's a duel boot machine that already runs an older version of MC and it works fine.

The MCFIRST timeline function and colour edits work well on the alternate BOOT supporting MCFIRST.

Rendering works about the same pace as the older version.

Howver, exporting, even a basic AVID option to the hard drive takes an inordanant amout of time. So far it's 1:30:13 to export a 12 minute, mark-in-to-mark-out part of  timeline. ON this machine, it shouldn't take anywhere near that amount of time.

QUESTION:  What resources does the export process use> Is it the CPU, Video CArd, RAM, or all of the above?

I know this system needs more RAM to run, I am weighing the option of upgrading this machine vs the killer expense of a new AVID certified model.

Windows 10 Pro Version: 1709 OS Build 16299.192INtel Core(TM) i5-2400 CPU @3.10Ghz 310 GHz8GB Ram - 7.88 usable64 bit x64 based processorDell Optiplex... [view my complete system specs]

Matthew Clulow

• Sun, Dec 2 2018 7:50 PM In reply to

• Matthew Clulow
    • Not Ranked
    • Posts 21
    • Points 195

Re: MC FIRST export resources / Export time

Another thought,  I have always worked with clips from the Cannon XF305 at 50mbps. This timline is using a mix of that with other clips from an FS7M2 @ 1080 /30 XAVC-L

Windows 10 Pro Version: 1709 OS Build 16299.192INtel Core(TM) i5-2400 CPU @3.10Ghz 310 GHz8GB Ram - 7.88 usable64 bit x64 based processorDell Optiplex... [view my complete system specs]