Latest post Tue, Oct 9 2018 1:29 AM by dingo1. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Oct 5 2018 4:29 PM

• EasyWatch
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Oct 5 2018
    • Posts 2
    • Points 40

4K Uprezzing Issues

Hello,

I’m a professional editor but have always been fairly novice when it comes to the technical aspects so I could use some help here. I received some 4K footage for a short film. The size of the files was unweildly to work with my set up, so after AMAing the footage in, I transcoded with the 1/4 size with the plan to eventually relink back to the AMA’s for the export for color. Now, the colorist is ready, but when I try to relink, AVID will not. To streamline the process, I transferred all the 4K footage to a different drive and only search that drive during the relink, but still, no dice. ‘Relink to AMAs’ is grayed out when I select the individual files so I can’t even reconnect it that way. I’m stumped. 

Would love to get some advice. If I’m not providing enough technical info, please let me know.

Thanks you!

• Fri, Oct 5 2018 4:52 PM In reply to

• DStone
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Nov 4 2005
    • Massachusetts
    • Posts 3,437
    • Points 44,365
    • Moderator: Media Composer Getting Started

Re: 4K Uprezzing Issues

It sounds like you broke the original links when you moved the media. You can try and move the media back to the original drive (not sure if that will work or not). If it doesn't work, link to the 4K clips in a new bin, make sure that bin is open, select all of the clips, right-click on the sequence, choose Relink, and select the option to relink to all selected items in open bins. You may have to also specify All Availablee Drives.

If you continue to have problems, one place to check is to make sure that the timecodes are the same for the 1/4 size clips and the 4K clips. This turned out to be a problem I had.