Latest post Fri, Jul 13 2018 3:22 AM by We-Co. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jul 10 2018 4:57 AM

• We-Co
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jul 10 2018
    • Posts 5
    • Points 35

Adobe to Avid and Importing R3Ds

Hello,

Please excuse the long post, I know this may be a bit thick for what I’m inquiring about but I’d like to give some foundation to my issues in hopes to solve the multiple problems I’m having.

I’m an Adobe Premiere editor, however, after the constant crashing and endless bugs I’ve deciding to try out new editing software. I’ve narrowed it down between Media Composer or Resolve… I feel like Resolve is a little underdeveloped, but I could be wrong I haven’t really tested it out like that. 

Anyway, going from Adobe to Avid is proving to be more difficult than I expected.

The assistant editor synced the project in Premiere Pro, so I exported an AAF to Avid.

The issues I’m facing.

1. The video and audio shows up offline

fix: audio “Batch re-import” sort of does the job.

2. The audio still doesn’t import files that are a stereo mix with mono channels

fix: guess I have to do this manually, a pain but I’ll live. Unless there’s a better way?

3. The video was proxy footage, and thus needs to relink/imported with original R3Ds

fix: ??? I have no idea, I’ve tried to relink, I’ve tried batch re-import, none of it works.

My questions are in there but if they are clear enough basically what I’m asking is…

1. How do I replace the proxy footage with the R3Ds, while keeping the synced audio, and also is there a way to toggle between proxies and R3Ds like Premiere?

2. What’s up with the stereo (mono with left and right) when it comes to AAF import? Is there any way to fix this without me manually syncing the audio or some sort of plugin or a way to create a stereo mix from a mono track?