Latest post Tue, May 8 2018 1:32 PM by Marianna. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, May 8 2018 10:58 AM

    • nigelad
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • London UK
    • Posts 525
    • Points 6,080
    • Avid Certified Instructors - Video
      Avid Certified User

    De-activate software before upgrade?

    Hi

    Do I need to de-activate my [ALP] MC software license before uninstalling MC18.3 and installing 18.4?

    Thanks

    Nigel

    ISIS 5500, MC 18.4 & PT 18.4 on Mac OS with BMD Mini-Monitors, an UltraStudio 4K and AJA T-taps. [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, May 8 2018 12:29 PM In reply to

    Re: De-activate software before upgrade?

    I generally suggest folks do. I have done upgrades without and it normally works fine.

    But if you don't deactivate and the upgrade fails you can nolonger deactivate on that machine so can't activate on a second machine.

    ACI Moderator. I'm not employed by Avid or work for them. I just do this in my spare time. Normally using the current Media Composer version on My... [view my complete system specs]

     

    Broadcast & Post Production Consultant / Trainer  VET

     

    T 07581 201248 | E pat@vet.co.uk | W www.vet.co.uk |


    Media Composer V8.2 Review Background Render

    -

    Follow me on Twitter Pat_H_VET

  • Tue, May 8 2018 1:28 PM In reply to

    • nigelad
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • London UK
    • Posts 525
    • Points 6,080
    • Avid Certified Instructors - Video
      Avid Certified User

    Re: De-activate software before upgrade?

    Cheers - will play it safe then

    NIgel.

     

    ISIS 5500, MC 18.4 & PT 18.4 on Mac OS with BMD Mini-Monitors, an UltraStudio 4K and AJA T-taps. [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, May 8 2018 1:32 PM In reply to

    • Marianna
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Avid
    • Posts 10,011
    • Points 215,650
    • Avid Beta Moderators
      Avid Customer Advocate
      Avid Developer Moderator
      BlogAuthor
      SystemAdministrator

    Re: De-activate software before upgrade?

    Pat Horridge:

    I generally suggest folks do. I have done upgrades without and it normally works fine.

    But if you don't deactivate and the upgrade fails you can nolonger deactivate on that machine so can't activate on a second machine.

    I agree with Pat 150%.  Shouldnt have too but if by chance it doesnt deactivate properly or some internet hiccup occurs during a deactivate, then you cant activate on anything until support helps you out.  I get this quite a bit nigel so I suggest you play it safe and deactivate manually before you install or upgrade.

    best to you...

    Marianna

    Director of Online Communities and Forums/Customer Advocate [view my complete system specs]

    marianna.montague@avid.com

    mobile 813-493-6800

    Twitter:  avidmarianna

    Facebook: Marianna Montague

    www.avidcustomerassociation.com   |  Connect 2019 | April 6-7 | Aria, Las Vegas, NV

    WWLD

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)

© Copyright 2011 Avid Technology, Inc.  Terms of Use |  Privacy Policy |  Site Map |  Find a Reseller