Latest post Tue, Mar 20 2018 10:30 AM by luca.mg. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Mar 18 2018 2:58 PM

Importing MXF Files to Avid Media Composer First on a Mac

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to using Avid and am learning how to use it at home with Avid Media Composer First. My employer has given me some footage to work with in my spare time which are .MXF files. 

I am having trouble importing these files into my project. I have tried creating a MXF folder within the Avid Media Files folder via Applications, but have had no luck.

Does anybody have a solution?

Thanks 

• Tue, Mar 20 2018 1:31 AM In reply to

• jef
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Feb 26 2006
    • Maryland
    • Posts 3,279
    • Points 39,765

Re: Importing MXF Files to Avid Media Composer First on a Mac

It depends on what kind of MXF files they are.  MXF is just a container.  Many different codecs can be inside.  Do you know what tool created these files?

Jef

Avid DS 11.0.2 R.I.P | MC "Well, it depends ..." | OS 10.11.x - various MacPro Towers - home system MacPro Dual 2.8 8core GTX680 "Harpertown"... [view my complete system specs]

Jef Huey

Senior Editor

Old Stuff  http://vimeo.com/album/3037796

• Tue, Mar 20 2018 3:31 AM In reply to

• DStone
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Nov 4 2005
    • Massachusetts
    • Posts 3,478
    • Points 44,820
    • Moderator: Media Composer Getting Started

First, check the format (as Jef said). MXF can hold a number of different formats (Operational Patterns, or OP for short). Media Composer uses the Op-Atom format. Some producers (e.g. Sony XDCAM) are in OP-1A format.