Latest post Wed, Feb 21 2018 11:54 AM by luca.mg. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Feb 20 2018 2:31 AM

NEED HELP - Relinking to directly-imported media without MXFs

Hey y'all,

I am an assistant editor who is new to Media Composer, but experienced in Premiere Pro. I just received an external drive that contains all the footage and audio for a project I am working on. When I open the project, all the media is offline. So far, I have not been able to relink any of the clips in the sequences to its source media. 

I reached out to the editor and she said that she imported all the footage and audio directly into the project without transcoding it. Therefore, I do not have an MXF folder to link back to.  Every time I try to relink to the media, Media Composer sends me the same error message (see attached). Even when I follow the directions in the dialogue box, the media will not relink.

How do I relink the clips to their sources? 

Thank you,

Anson M. Petrick

• Tue, Feb 20 2018 10:37 AM In reply to

Re: NEED HELP - Relinking to directly-imported media without MXFs

So presumeably the drive you received had no Avid Mediafiles folder on it with an MXF subfolder and numbered folders in that?

If it did then you do have Avid media.

You need to be sure of what the previous editor did. Did she import the media using the import option or did she link the media. Linking and importing aren't the same.

If she did import then you will have media and probably a very unhappy conform for the online (as importing isn't as flexible at the conform stage)

If she linked then you need to re-link. However confudingly you can't use the relink command.

You need to make a new bin (or bins) and AMA link the clips or folders from the drive into those bins.

As each batch of clips is linked you should see the original clips coming online.