Latest post Fri, Jun 6 2014 5:40 PM by S.Clements. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Jun 6 2014 12:35 PM

• S.Clements
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Jul 3 2011
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 812
    • Points 10,765

CoreAudio Underrun - Is computer "leaking" ram?

Hi,

I've had this problem forever and can never seem to find a suitable explanation for it.  Almost on a daily basis, I will be editing and all of a sudden I will get a Coreaudio Underrun error that will prevent me from playing footage in the timeline. The only way to get rid of it is to restart the computer.  The frequency is about once a day, unless I watch a lot of streaming Internet video, play quicktimes or listen to music, in which case the underruns come on more frequently.

I'm not an expert on the inner workings of computers, but does this point to a sort of "leaking" of Ram?  If not, why would the restart fix the underrun?  Is there any way to prevent the leak?  I had a similar problem with After Effects where I had to download a program called "Purge".  Purge sat in my tool bar and whenever I ran into a ram problem with After Effects, I would press the button and all would be fine.  Unfortunately, Purge does not fix the problem with Avid though.  Does anyone out there know how to stop these CoreAudio Underruns? 

Avid Media Composer 8.3.1 Macbook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014) 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB Ram Mac, OS 10.10.2 [view my complete system specs]
    Filed under: , , ,
  • Fri, Jun 6 2014 3:55 PM In reply to

• ppohio
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Jan 28 2012
    • Posts 111
    • Points 1,435

Re: CoreAudio Underrun - Is computer "leaking" ram?