Latest post Thu, Apr 10 2014 5:09 PM by View_Findr. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Feb 28 2014 10:00 PM

• mmarino561
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Feb 28 2014
    • Posts 4
    • Points 50

Help with "Avid Exception: A serious error has occurred!"

Hey everyone,

So I will admit that I am pretty new to personally working with Avid Media Composer 7, though I have been working with editors for years. I have the software installed on my iMac, however whenever I try to open/create ANY project on ANY hard drive, i instantly get the message "Avid Exception: A serious error has occurred! It is recommended that you save your work and restart the system".

As for my issue's backstory, a couple of months ago I had the Media Composer 7 trial running on my computer. During this time, the software worked on my computer perfectly. As I was uninstalling the software, the uninstall froze and I was forced to quit. Since buying the software last week, I have on numerous occasions uninstalled and reinstalled the software to try to get rid of this error message. Additionally, I have tried to open both previous Avid projects on external hard drives, in addition to creating new projects on my computer's hard drive. However each time I try to officially open/create a project, the loading phase ends on this error message. I have read other posts regarding this error within this forum, however it seems to all be based on people needing to relink files within specific projects, which doesnt seem to be my case.

Additionally, I have checked many of these existing Avid Projects on my editor's PC to make sure they werent corrupted, and they have opened without any issue.

Specifications:

iMac, Mid 2010

3.6 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory: 8 GB

Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5670 512 MB

Avid Media Composer 7.0.3

I would greatly appreciate any help!

• Sat, Mar 1 2014 2:08 AM In reply to

Re: Help with "Avid Exception: A serious error has occurred!"