Latest post Mon, Oct 28 2013 1:35 PM by mark_brazil. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Aug 13 2013 1:04 AM

• gunsmoke
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Oct 26 2009
    • New Zealand
    • Posts 14
    • Points 190

Quality issues with Avid Export and online Upload

My beloved forum,

I've been editing on Avid for many years now, mainly broadcast, but struggling with proper quality internet uploads nowadays. I found a link here in the forum reg export settings but unfortunately for me it does not do the job.

Here is a typical scenario: I edit and grade a story in MC6 (full HD), export same-as-source (Color Space 601). The export looks perfect. Then I go into Squeeze and do a Quicktime export with MainConcept H264, restricted to say 4000 Kbps, 1280x720, the rest default settings. The exported file always looks flat, dirty and washed out. Sure, I can use filters and bring back some contrast and colors but this can't be the way. When I export from Avid as RGB it's the opposite: too dark and too contrasty. I tend to get better results when exporting as Quicktime H264 (601) straight out of Avid instead of going through Squeeze. The clip is not as flat and washed out but still not great.

So my question is: what am I doing wrong or is there a surefire way to export and convert a video so it looks as it should look on youtube or Vimeo? Sorry but this is just so frustrating....

Thanks heaps guys

iMAC 3.1 GHz Intel Core i5, 16GB DDR, OSX 10.7 Lion, Media Composer 6.0.3.2, Squeeze 8.1

iMAC 3.1 GHz Intel Core i5, 16GB DDR, OSX 10.7 Lion, Media Composer 6.0.3.2, Black Magic Intensity Extreme, Squeeze 8.1 [view my complete system specs]
  • Sat, Aug 17 2013 10:11 PM In reply to

• gunsmoke
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Oct 26 2009
    • New Zealand
    • Posts 14
    • Points 190

Re: Quality issues with Avid Export and online Upload

Come on guys, don't tell me I'm the only one having this problem???