Latest post Tue, Nov 13 2012 7:00 PM by The ARSENO. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Nov 13 2012 3:33 PM

• The ARSENO
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Nov 11 2012
    • Posts 7
    • Points 95

DSLR workflow for color grading

Hi everyone, 
    I am sure there are a lot of posts about DSLR workflow on Avid, but I couldn't find one that answers my simple questions.
    I am pretty new to Avid Media Composer, I've just switched to it after Premiere, and my question is the following.
     How shall I import DSLR H264 files to Avid MC 6 letting their color space to stay full swing 0 - 255 and not 16 - 235 ?
    The media will not be broadcasted and it is only for web playback. Any changes needed I will do later in Resolve so I wont to have the 0 - 255 to have the biggest room to play with the levels.

Please explain step by step as I am new to Avid and please tell me which versions of DNxHD to use, shall I convert the H264 files before importing with mpeg streamclip or not?

Basically I want to find out a workflow which will allow not to lose any quality during encoding and color grading.

Thank you very much in advance.

• Tue, Nov 13 2012 3:40 PM In reply to

Re: DSLR workflow for color grading

IF you AMA link the files into MC you can use the menu option set Source Settings to look at the levels (against a histogram with 16-235 indicated by white lines) you can then choose to apply eitehr compression, expansion or leave as they are to the levels.

But which DSLR are the fiels from? The newer 5D mkIII now produces rec 709 levels (16-235) where as the earlier ones where full swing.

Also MC is designed to work for TV formats so is based on 601/709 workflows. You can make it take footage at full swing levels 0-255 but you will have issues. Att a white title with black shadow and the shadow will be at 16 and the white at 235. The black filler will be at 16 etc.