Latest post Fri, Sep 21 2012 3:50 PM by Larry Rubin. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Sep 21 2012 12:26 PM

• HansLucas
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Sep 21 2012
    • Posts 6
    • Points 90

"the powerpc architecture is no longer supported"

Hi,

I just got a MAC (OS X 10.8), on which I thought I could install Avid Xpress DV, that I used on my PC so far which is now dead. But when trying to install Avid Xpress DV I have the following message : "the powerpc architecture is no longer supported".

Does that mean I have to buy a 500€ software again ?? I can't afford it.

Please help ! !

I don't know what to do... I am not good with Mac yet.

• Fri, Sep 21 2012 12:41 PM In reply to

Re: "the powerpc architecture is no longer supported"

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but Xpress DV has been discontinued for quite a while.  Although someone may come along with a solution, I doubt it will run on a modern computer.

Media Composer 2019.7 w/Symphony/SS/PF options, HP Envy 17t-j100 Quad Edition laptop, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Core i7 2.4GHz, 16 GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GT... [view my complete system specs]

"There is hardly anything in the world that some man cannot make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who only consider the price are this man's lawful prey."  - John Ruskin (1819-1900)

Carl Amoscato | Freelance Film & Video Editor | London, UK

• Fri, Sep 21 2012 12:44 PM In reply to

Sorry to have to be the bearer of bad news, but Avid Express DV has been an EOL (end of life) product for a very long time now, and certainly is not supported to run on Mountain Lion OS. You will need to upgrade to Media Composer version 6. The upgrade price for you would be $599 USD.

Newscutter Nitris DX 9.5.3.5 * Media Composer 5.5.3.6 (At Home on PC running XP Pro) * Symphony 6.5.2.1 (At home on MacBook Pro3,1 running 10.7.2) * Interplay... [view my complete system specs]

Larry Rubin

Senior Editor