Latest post Mon, Feb 20 2012 12:51 AM by David Yardley. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Feb 18 2012 9:22 PM

• BrettG
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Feb 18 2012
    • Posts 38
    • Points 555

How do I consolidate subclips with comments?

Hi all -

I am new to Avid but have been tasked to do some media management for a client. I am backing up media to an external drive by using the consolidate feature ... however, all of the editors have have included nice ID comments for each subclip in the bins, which I would like to pass on to the client. 

Specifically, how do I consolidate from a subclip bin to an external drive while including the subclip comments?

Avid just wants to create a new master .mxf file, with a new name, on the external drive, yet, if you do not have Avid, or access to the project or bin, there is no other information to identify the consolidated .mxf files. How could I relay comments to associate a particular subclip with a particular consolidated .mxf file?

I have tried the "reveal file" function, while in the bin, but it does not work for subclips. 

Ultimately, I would like to include a shot-by-shot Excel log to include with the external drive when I deliver.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

• Sun, Feb 19 2012 12:30 PM In reply to

Re: How do I consolidate subclips with comments?

Just done a test on my machine and the consolidated subclip retains any custom columns created?

So when you consolidate you get a bunch of new master clips (the subclip plus the handles but no custom columns) plus the new subclips including the comments. You collect all the new subclips into a bin and supply them with the media on the media drive. When the bin is opened the comments are all retained.

No idea how you are imagining anyone can work with just the MXF media files without Avid and the bins related to them?