Latest post Sat, Feb 4 2012 1:59 AM by Mr Carnelian. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Feb 1 2012 9:19 AM

Portable Avid Suite and Thunderbolt

Hi all

I'm a freelance TVC editor and I generally run a portable Avid suite and travel with productions on their shoots. I usually run Macbook Pro with Avid 5.5 on it, cut in DNxHD36, output via Mojo SDI to a TV in a hotel suite (running the Avid in SD mode). I hire a monitor when I'm travelling and run all my media off a LaCie Little Big Disk and then daisy chain this to the Mojo SDI. So I have my mac screen, an HD monitor and the TV running at the same time.

I'm trying to figure out how I can upgrade to Media Composer 6 with a similar setup. I've used 6 and love it. However MC6 no longer supports the Mojo SDI. Ok, so I can use any one of the other thunderbolt IO devices (Black Magic etc) however they each only have one thunderbolt port (apart from the IO XT which is not released yet) which means I have no ability to output to a computer monitor. The Macbook has one thunderbolt port and the IO devices have one thunderbolt port effectively ending the thunderbolt chain. So I can go out to the Black Magic Intensity box and then to the TV, but I have no ability to use a computer monitor as the DVI out is now the same as the thunderbolt port.

How do I get around this...?

Any help would be most appreciated.

LC

• Wed, Feb 1 2012 9:56 AM In reply to

• Dachatz
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Jan 8 2007
    • Austria/Carinthia
    • Posts 14
    • Points 170

Re: Portable Avid Suite and Thunderbolt

If you use a Thunderbolt Display, e.g. the Apple Cinemadisplay you can daisy chain the display first and continue with your editing hardware of choice.

But I hope that in the future more devices will sport two thundbolt connections because after all it was meant to be daisy chained!

Hope this helps a little....

Dominik