Latest post Sun, Mar 11 2012 9:49 PM by George Angeludis. 23 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (24 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jan 25 2012 4:17 AM

• Patrice Shannon
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Oct 21 2009
    • Wash, DC & Sarasota, FL
    • Posts 17
    • Points 200

My experience with MC 6

Don't like the loss of superbin.  Don't prefer the alternative of dragging and dropping bins into a window. this takes too much time.  Superbin is only one click - a lot faster.

Can't enter slide mode on multiple clips in the timeline.

BCC plugins that were free in 5.5 are now gone in 6.

That was enough for me to un-install 6 and re-install 5.5.

This goes way back, but I was shocked, shocked when they got rid of sissors and weight lifter man.  When I attended the first demo where these two icons were removed, they told us it's because the "new kids couldn't grasp the concepts of sissors and weight-lifter!!"  Whaaaaat!!  I was a trainer then, and i never encountered a student who didn't understand them.

Why was the simple cmd+I function in the record monitor to change the start timecode of a sequence removed.  I couldn't find anything on the Avid website to figure that one out.  Just a useless blurb about "why doesn't my Timecode start at 1:00 Hour?"  the document explains why, of course, but then doesn't go on to tell you HOW to change the start timecode.  I finally had to call support, and even he didn't know how to do it!

Why isn't this sort of thing published in the "what's new" documents?

FCP has its advantages, but unfortunately Avid is taking the worst of FCP  and integrating it into Media Composer.

The registration process for Avid software couldn't be more cumbersome. 

I've been Avid's greatest champion since 1996, but they make it hard to love them.

MacBook Pro 17"Late 2011, OS 10.9.5, 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 SDRAM, AMD Radeon HD 6770M, Intel HD Graphics 3000 [view my complete system specs]