Latest post Sat, Jan 21 2012 8:32 PM by chris014980. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jan 11 2012 4:31 PM

Editing 1st feature-length film advice

Hello all, my name's Chris, and this is my first post in a Avid forum. So, I have just been tapped to edit my 1st feature film at the end of July. I've been an editor for about 10 years now, and have cut everything except for a full length feature. I was wondering, for those of you have went from the world of short films, documentaries, music videos, etc., to first stepping into features, what are some of the pitfalls that could be avoided? Basic things, technical things, really anything you'd like to share.  I was going to recommend 4 4tb G-Raids, and as the job is out of country, we may have to resort to cutting on MacBook Pros. I have two assistant editors, and production time is 5 weeks (shooting on the RED), with only 5 weeks of picture post, so efficiency and workflow comments would also be helpful. As well as things to be sure my assistants are aware and capable of. Thank you all so much,

Chris

ps- should i upgrade to 6 prior to the job start? I'm comfortable with my 5.5.1, and as you know 6 has some... differences, both good and bad... so just wanted to get your ideas? Thanks again guys and girls.

• Wed, Jan 11 2012 4:38 PM In reply to

Re: Editing 1st feature-length film advice

Also, we will be doing both the DIT work as well as color correcting, so any tips on streamlining that flow amongst the assistants would also be great.

• Fri, Jan 20 2012 4:45 PM In reply to

• pianoman72
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Feb 9 2006
    • Dallas, TX
    • Posts 518
    • Points 5,965

Hey man,

Might be helpful to know what cameras you're using for the film....Congrats!

On our last film we used 3x 4TB Graids as Primaries (2 for REDS 1 for Phantom) and a 12TB G-Speed Q for the backup.