Latest post Tue, Dec 4 2012 10:52 AM by Pat Horridge. 20 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Sep 25 2011 2:51 PM

• nubins
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Sep 16 2011
    • Posts 18
    • Points 270

AMA Link to 5D files with transcode to DNxHD 36 and 175?

I am new to Media Composer coming from Final Cut. I am looking for a good work flow for compressed media like 5D and XDCAM. So basically I want to load in all my original (5D, XDCAM) footage via AMA then transcode that footage to DNxHD 36 for the edit. Then using my final edit sequence switch back to the original footage for transcode to DNxHD 175 with 2 second handles for Online and color correction.

Currently I am working on a Doc with about 100 hrs of footage shot on 5D and XDCAM. We are editing in Media Composer 5.5, color correcting in Davinci, and onlining in DS. We want to offline in DNxHD 36 and then online in DS with 175. I have seen many posts about this work flow but since I do not know MC very well yet I need some guidance.

Is there are step by step tutorial on how to do this in MC 5.5 or can some one give me the steps for this process?

Thanks

• Sun, Sep 25 2011 3:38 PM In reply to

Re: AMA Link to 5D files with transcode to DNxHD 36 and 175?

Yes this is possible. The key to the workflow is organization before offline ingest.

I sent you an email.

MC 8.6.1, Windows 10, ASROCK X99M, Intel 5930K, Zotac GTX970, 32GB RAM, Transcend 512GB M.2 SSD & Dell U2713H. MBP 2012 Thunderbolt, OSX 10.10.5, MC... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sun, Sep 25 2011 11:20 PM In reply to

• nubins
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Sep 16 2011
    • Posts 18
    • Points 270

Thank you for the detailed explination in your email. This work flow will help keep my sanity.

Thanks again.

• Tue, Oct 4 2011 6:11 PM In reply to

• sduranto
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Oct 4 2011
    • Posts 3
    • Points 55